Community Service

Imagining a better world inspires our students’ hearts for service. They raise funds to provide sustainable food sources, and raise helping hands for friends in need. The impact of JA’s community service reaches far beyond our campus, touching lives across the globe.

The Service and Learning Plan

The Jackson Academy Service and Learning Plan is a teaching and learning strategy that integrates meaningful community service with instruction and reflection to enrich the learning experience, teach civic responsibility, and strengthen communities. The Service and Learning Plan is based upon the principles found in the school’s mission statement. By committing to help others in need, students are challenged to become responsible citizens, while growing spiritually, emotionally, socially, and physically.

Community Service Fair

In September of each year the school hosts a Community Service Fair. Partner organizations come to campus to meet with students face-to-face, enabling students to find their niche in serving their communities.

MobileServe

Students submit documentation to the Service and Learning Coordinator for consideration and approval of volunteer work using the MobileServe app. This application is made available to students and faculty via their school-issued iPads and laptops. Any service hours to be earned during school must be approved by a dean prior to service. Non-school related service, including summer service, will be considered as long as appropriate documentation is provided and approved.

Meet Our Community Partners

OrganizationContact
American Cancer SocietyMegan McBeth at megan.mcbeth@cancer.org
American Heart AssociationJill Strickland at jill.strickland@heart.org
American Red CrossCassandra Wells-Terry at cassandra.wells-terry@redcross.org
Big Brothers, Big SistersAva Bibbs or Michael Harvey at abibbs@bbsms.org or mharvey@bbsms.org
Canopy Children’s SolutionsTraci Grubb at traci.grub@mycanopy.org
CARALea Ann Craig at lcraig@sfbli.com
CitychurchApril Epperson at aepp86@gmail.com
Crossroads Services, LLCConnie Courtney at connie@crossroadsms.org
Diabetes Foundation of MississippiAshley Johnson at ashley@msdiabetes.org
Families First for MississippiPamela McGee at pmcgee@mscec.org
Gateway Rescue MissionBen Edwards at bedwards@gatewaymission.org
Good Samaritan CenterVeronica Herrin at veronicaherrin@goodsamaritancenter.org
Habitat for HumanityContyna McNealy at tmcnealy@habitatmca.org
Hope Hollow MinistriesPerry Rigby at info@jopejollowms.org
Joni and Friends of MississippiOlivia Parks at oparks@joniandfriends.org
Juvenile Diabetes Research FundTonya Harrison at mreza@jdrf.org
Keep Jackson BeautifulMarsha Hobson at 601.398.5219
Little Light HouseTammy Tadlock at 601.956.6131
Madison County Library SystemTiffany White at twhite@mcls.ms
Mission FirstLee Thigpen at lthigpen@missionfirst.org
Mississippi Children’s Home ServicesKym Williams at kym.williams@mchs.com
Mississippi Children’s MuseumSusan Branson at sbranson@mcm.ms
Mississippi Community Education CenterEliza Ueltschey at 601.366.6405
Mississippi Food NetworkStacey Cain scain@msfoodnet.org
Mississippi Library Commission TBSShellie Seigler at frizsell@mlc.lib.ms.us
Mississippi Museum of ArtMonique Davis at mdavis@msmuseumart.org
Mississippi Museum of Natural Science Ann Taylor at ann.taylor@mmns.state.ms.us
Mississippi Sports Hall of FameMorgan Lewellen at mlewellen@msfame.com or generalinfo@msfame.com
Muscular Dystrophy AssociationEllie Denman at edenman@mdausa.org
Mustard SeedErin Williams at erin@mustardseedinc.org
Neighborhood Christian Centerwww.nccjackson.com or 601.352.9049
Salvation ArmyTaylor Hart at taylor.hart@uss.salvationarmy.org
Sons of the KingJames Logan at 601.942.8778
Saint Dominic’s Hospitalvolunteer@stdom.com
Stewpot Community ServicesTara Lindsey at tlindsey@stewpot.org
University of Mississippi Medical CenterMarsha Burton at mbburton@umc.org
Voice of Calvary MinistriesBarabara Parker-Thronton at barbarathornton@vocm.org
Youth Villages of MississippiKashea Johnson at kashea.johnson@youthvillages.org