Page 5 of 65« First...34567...102030...Last »

Showchoir Season Results


This season, Showtime made appearances at Jackson Prep Showchoir Masters, where the group took second place in the large division; South Jones Showchoir Invitational, where the group won first place as well as caption awards for best vocals and best overall effect; and West Jones Showchoir Invitational, where the group won first runner up and best visuals.  Meagan Gautier was awarded grand champion of the solo competition at Jackson Prep. Cannon Bosarge won second runner up in the solo competition at West Jones. Showtime concluded its season at the Oak Grove Magnolia Invitational where the group took first runner up and best visuals.

Showtime is in its first year under the direction of JA alumna Amy Arinder. The 2017 show featured choreography by Kevin Chase and Nick Quamme and arrangements by Katie Shores and Allison Talley with soloists Lily Rhoden, Reagan Bosarge, Anna Claire Seago, Cannon Bosarge, Phoebe Guinn, and Miles Taylor Leverette.

Encore was awarded fourth runner up at the South Jones Invitational, first runner up at the Opelika (Ala.) Invitational, and first runner up at the Oak Grove Invitational. At the West Jones Invitational, the group received grand champion, best vocals, best visual, best overall effect, and best costumes in its division and went on to win grand champion, best vocals, best visual, and best overall effect in finals. Dolph Maxwell and Braden Lewis received best overall performer awards. Also at West Jones, Emily Earle received first runner up in the solo competition. Most recently, Encore traveled to Nashville, where the group closed its season with a performance on the Grand Ole Opry stage.

Encore is in its sixth year under the direction of Katie Shores with choreography by Kevin Chase and Nick Quamme, arrangements by Katie Shores and Allison Talley, and featuring soloists Don Waller, Reese Overstreet, Emily Earle, and Latham Nance.

Cum Laude Inducts New Members

cum-laude-website-bigger-1Established to recognize scholastic achievement in secondary schools, the Cum Laude Society has granted charters to only four schools in Mississippi.  The Jackson Academy chapter recently selected these new members: Conley Chinn, Grace Cartwright, Will Laird, Braden Lewis, Dolph Maxwell, Travis Rogers, Caroline Watson, Milla McCormack, Anna Douglas Almand, Elizabeth Scott, Livvie Strickland, Emma Ward, Lacey Irby, and Avery Anderson.  Inducted as juniors last year were Nancy Usey, Lizzie Bowman, Sahil Patel, and Alexander Schott.

Miles Johnson and Paul Bautista Named Jernberg Scholars

jernberg-websitge-1This year, two students were selected for the Jernberg Scholarship. In 2014, the Board of Trustees established a scholarship that celebrates and awards academic excellence and named it in honor of President Emeritus James Peter Jernberg Jr. who faithfully served the school as president for 26 years. Mr. Jernberg is considered one of the most influential educators in independent education nationwide, so a scholarship in his name comes with much honor and prestige.

This year, Miles Johnson, from Madison, and Paul Bautista, from Brandon, have received the honor. As highly qualified applicants who started out in a much bigger group of candidates, these two had to complete testing, essays, recommendations, and school and financial applications in order to be considered for the scholarship. Once becoming finalists, they completed on-campus interviews, and finally were selected as the 2017-2018 Jernberg Scholars. The scholarship will cover tuition, fees, and other costs of attending JA.

Miles Johnson came to JA from Christ Covenant last year. He had applied for the Jernberg Scholarship for that year but did not receive it, giving him a strong determination to go for it again.

“Dolph Maxwell is a Jernberg Scholar that I really look up to,” says Miles when asked about his feelings on being a Jernberg Scholar. Dolph received the Jernberg Scholarship for the 2015-2016 school year and attends Miles’ church. “I also have had relatives work here in the past who knew Mr. Jernberg…I know it’s a great honor, and I’m so excited to receive it.”

Miles says the aspect that most attracted him to JA was technology. The Tech Center and the Learning Commons won big points with him, and he uses both areas frequently. He really enjoys his classes, especially sports broadcasting with Ms. Lawrence where he experiences hands on learning with modern broadcasting technology. Miles says that for his personal goals as a student at JA and a Jernberg scholar, it’s not about winning the race but how you run it, and he plans to work hard under the examples he has at JA and his church, Highland Presbyterian.

Paul Bautista comes to JA next year from Brandon Middle as a ninth grader. Paul was looking for a school that would challenge him as a student and as a young man. “I wanted a better education so I can live my life to the greatest I can, and I saw that the best place to do that was here,” he says.

Paul was also really attracted to the technology opportunities at JA as well as a few other values of the JA Way. “I like this place because it emphasizes community, not just excellence.” Paul applied to four boarding schools as well as JA and at first was looking forward to his opportunities there. But a visit to JA and its community showed him that he could be given a challenge right here in Jackson at a school that already feels like home. He is very excited to start next year.

“This is one of those ultimate journeys…I don’t expect myself to be perfect, but I do want to be able to say I came out a better person.”

The scholarship celebrates the influence of Peter Jernberg’s significant impact on the world of independent education with the hope that each recipient will, in turn, become an individual who makes an impact on his school and community through academics and character.

Qualified students may apply for the Jernberg Scholarship at Jackson Academy for the 2018-2019 school year beginning in the fall of 2017. More information on the Jernberg Scholarship is available at

Lady Raiders Repeat MAIS Championship Title Win


Congratulations to the JA Lady Raiders! The team attained its 40th win and the MAIS Overall Championship title at Mississippi College Saturday. The Lady Raiders defeated Kirk Academy 52-39 for the title. Named to the MAIS Overall All Tournament Team were De’ja Bradford, Conley Chinn, Emily McNair, Lauran Sheriff, and Malon Stratton.

The Lady Raiders won 59-25 in Monday’s game against Leake to advance to the second round of the overall tournament. Wins against Oak Forest (58-28) on Wednesday and Marshall (40-15) on Friday earned the team a spot in the championship game.

The boys varsity team advanced to the overall tournament, winning their first round game against Canton Academy 57-48. In the second round, they had a 70-44 win over Riverdale and ended their season in a 63-61 loss to Hartfield in the third round. Micah Morgan was named to the All Tournament team.

Page 5 of 65« First...34567...102030...Last »