Page 10 of 69« First...89101112...203040...Last »

Sydney Thaxton Shares Experiences Writing First Book


Sydney and her mom Amy greet students during the book signing January 25.

Sydney Thaxton encouraged students who attended the reading and signing of her book to write about something they like. The fifth grader did just that when she wrote Dusk, her first published book. She selected a story about a dog that was inspired by her own dog, Big Girl.

Fourth, fifth, and sixth grade students gathered with fellow JA classmate and author Sydney Wednesday, January 25 as she talked about writing, signed books, and read a chapter from her work that was published in late 2016. The signing was held in the Lower School library in conjunction with the school Scholastic Book Fair.

Dusk tells the story of a Louisiana girl who is dealing with loss and the changing family dynamics that result. She finds friendship with a dog named Dusk. Copies of Dusk were available for $10 and 56 were sold. A portion of the proceeds went to purchase books for the JA Lower School library. Dog bone bookmarks were given to students to encourage reading, and dog treats were given to students to share with their pet friends.

Sydney began writing around the age of 8, but this is the first work she has completed. She said her previous attempts were good practice for writing Dusk. “I started liking it the more I did it,” she said. The book took about two months to write.

“It was hard at some points,” she explained when asked by a fellow student how difficult writing a book was. “When I started, though, it just kind of flowed to me.”

Sydney is currently working on her second book that will expand on the story of main character Phoenix Rose and her dog, Dusk. She said the sequel has lots of action and “tons of points of view.”

Equestrian Team Completes Season

From left to right:  Molly McClure, Regan Felder, Annalee Willson, Olivia Quin, Addison Armstrong and (trainer) Patti Shoemaker.

Not pictured: Lauren Sutton, Ana Kelly Hontzas, Lily Rhoden, Sophie Rhoden, Alden McNamara, Anna Claire Sheffield, and Sarah Clay.

The Jackson Academy Equestrian Team has completed its regular season wrapping up the group’s second year in equestrian competition, with one rider advancing to regionals.

In their final regular season horse show at Providence Hill Farm weekend before last, the Middle School team won reserve champion, and Sophie Rhoden got the sportsmanship award. Molly McClure qualified for regionals to be held February 18 at Providence Hill Farm.

The JA team sponsored our school’s first horse show in Canton earlier in the school year and had great participation by teams from five states. They plan to sponsor another show in the fall. At the Canton show, Middle School won reserve champion.

Alpha and Omega Cheer for Teachers and Students


Seniors and kindergarten students in Alpha and Omega attended the faculty-student basketball games together this past week. They cheered and watched games between female faculty and Upper School girls and male faculty and Upper School boys. The games were competitive and close in score, which made the event all the more exciting! Ultimately, getting to spend time with their Alpha and Omega friend was the most fun of all.

Click here to view the entire photo album from the game on Facebook.

Lady Raiders Basketball Team Receives SUPER 10 Ranking


The varsity Lady Raiders were listed in the state’s Super 10 for girls basketball teams Saturday in the Clarion-Ledger. Jackson Academy is the only independent school in the listing. The Lady Raiders currently lead the MAIS AAAA rankings. The boys team is currently ranked second in MAIS AAAA.


1. Olive Branch (21-1)
2. Starkville (17-0)
3. Choctaw Central (15-1)
4. Murrah (14-4)
5. McComb (18-1)
6. Harrison Central (14-2)
7. Jackson Academy (21-2)
8. Lafayette (16-1)
9. Velma Jackson (13-3)
10. Tupelo (14-4)

JA Teams Earn First Place for Mississippi in Global Competition


Robotics teams in Jackson Academy’s fourth grade earned first place in the state in a global competition for lower school students. The four JA teams that completed the coding challenge each earned a perfect score. They all tied for first place in the state of Mississippi. Globally, the JA teams were among only 180 of 5,200 teams that received a perfect score. The teams took part of a challenge called Animal Habitat Rescue, and using robot Dash, along with his sidekick, Dot, they completed five animal-saving challenges before a December deadline.

The competition is one aspect of a systematic coding curriculum that has been added to the Lower School STEM program for grades first through fourth at JA. Using various age-appropriate robots and apps, the students learn programming, predicting, and problem-solving skills.

Earning first place for Mississippi were Team JA Dash (Anderson Ueltschey, Addison Jeffcoat, Willis Thigpen, Foster Meacham); Team Dynamite (Aniyah Brown, Anna Catherine Bennett, Law Stanley, Mason Brantley); Team Flaming Unicorns (Faith Wicks, Brooke Singleton, Ian Hosch, Parker Puckett); and Team Rainbow Parrots (Brooke Emerson Ogden, Lynnzee Stapleton, Micah Wallace, Parker Halford, and Aaron Howard).

Page 10 of 69« First...89101112...203040...Last »